Landscape Architect & Specifier News

MAR 2017

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: http://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/795612

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 165

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Stephen Kelly skelly@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Admin. Assistant/Education Alli Rael arael@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor - Economics Michael Miyamoto mmiyamoto@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor - Associations Andrew Soto asoto@landscapeonline.com Associate Editors Associate Editor/Digital Information Ashley Steffens Associate Professor, University of Georgia steffens@uga.edu Associate Editor: Ordinances Buck Abbey, ASLA Green Laws Org • lsugreenlaws@aol.com Associate Editor/Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Associate Editor/Lighting Janet Lennox Moyer, IALD moyerj@rpi.edu In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designers Matthew Medeiros mmedeiros@landscapeonline.com Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Sales Support Liaison Raul Abarca rabarca@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Carolyn Duenas cduenas@landscapeonline.com Lana Foley lfoley@landscapeonline.com Angie Ramirez aramirez@landscapeonline.com Cameron Gillespie cgillespie@landscapeonline.com _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Judges 6:23 … But the Lord said to him, "Peace! Do not be afraid. You are not going to die." Find Us Online: Coming to you from Mammoth Mountain in the Sierra Nevada where the picture above shows a three-story condo complex almost buried in snow. Over the past several years California has been locked in another drought only to have it be almost completely relieved in a matter of weeks. Many of you have seen the news of Oroville Dam bursting its seams and flood waters raging. They say even more rain and snow is set to fall later this week (today is 2/23/17). But here's the rub . . . With almost every reservoir at or near capacity there is more than 20 feet of snow resting on the 400 mile long mountain range. This snow is going to melt, soon, and when it does the reservoirs will be forced to release billions, if not trillions of gallons of water. Much of that water will be released in an emergency setting, rushing out to the sea and taking who knows how much sediment and property with it. So, California, one of the most politically messed up states in the nation, with the Sierra Club advocating more for the baby smelt than the farmers, with more focus on the need for a high speed rail system and withdrawing from the nation than meeting the actual needs of the people, has once again ignored history and done nothing in the drought years to work on enhancing the state's water storage systems. Yep, for now the drought is over. It's time to water your lawn, wash your cars and build as much housing as possible, but heaven forbid we build another dam or divert water to the Colorado River system (where Lake Mead is still 100+ feet below capacity). Is it global warming? Is it the end of drought forever? Of course not, it's as predictable as the sun rising in the east. The rains come as the sea water cools. Then El Niño heats up the southern waters again, and drought takes over, until that passes and the water cools and then you can expect the rains to come again. This process takes between 7-10 years. And right about the time the drought becomes evident again, the politicians get involved and the landscape industry gets shut down with talk of doom and gloom and drought forever . . . It's the same in Texas and Georgia where we are always writing about the looming drought only to see them flooded out and all thought of the need for water to be captured disappears. The good news is that the landscape industry, the original 'Green' industry, has learned many lessons from the periods of no water, lessons that should be built upon and not thrown away in these times of water aplenty. The rains won't last and we can plan for that. But the droughts won't last either and we should build our landscapes with that in mind as well . . . The Natural Nature of Nature . . . 10 Landscape Architect and Specifier News PHOTO: GEORGE SCHMOK George Schmok, Publisher God Bless . . .

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - MAR 2017