Landscape Architect & Specifier News

AUG 2017

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: http://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/856576

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 11 of 133

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Stephen Kelly skelly@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Admin. Assistant/Education Alli Rael arael@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor - Associations Andrew Soto asoto@landscapeonline.com Associate Editors Associate Editor/Digital Information Ashley Steffens Associate Professor, University of Georgia steffens@uga.edu Associate Editor: Ordinances Buck Abbey, ASLA Green Laws Org • lsugreenlaws@aol.com Associate Editor/Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Associate Editor/Lighting Janet Lennox Moyer, IALD moyerj@rpi.edu In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Calvin Scott cscott@landscapeonline.com _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Matthew 25:21 … His master replied, `Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master's happiness!' Find Us Online: p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r Welcome to the 2017 Streetscapes Issue. This annual issue has been a staple of LASN for many years, with all kinds of cool traffic flow, pedestrian- friendly, vendor-interactive designs coming across the boards. We've seen many innovative elements like parklets, multifunctional streetlights, dark sky, bicycle security, traffic roundabouts, signage, corner bumpouts, etc., etc., etc. . . . But two things are coming down the pipe that will surely change the art of streetscape design and reshape the downtown experience. One is already making an impact and the other is just a few short years away. Internet shopping is reducing the demand for onsite shopping across the nation, causing malls and downtowns to rethink the number and kinds of retailers they can support and how these outlets will interact with shoppers in the future. The other is the driverless car, which most assuredly will be in full force within the next decade or so. Only time will tell the full impact this has, but several elements should be considered for any future downtown renovations. First on the list are parking and dropoff zones. In the very near future you will call your car out of your garage, climb in and order it to take you downtown where it will drop you off in front of your destination, and then go find a place to park itself, waiting for your command to be picked up and taken to the next destination. Cars won't need space to open their doors when parking, as no one will be inside when the car is parked. Parking along the street might not even be necessary. Currently you look for the closest space to your destination, but in a few years, you'll simply climb out of your vehicle and off it will go. In fact, you might even be able to send it off to go and pick up a package at a retailer or pick up your groceries at the market while you stay at home or shop at different locations. Elements that you are designing today to slow traffic, like roundabouts and corner bumpouts may also become unnecessary, as all traffic will be controlled in downtown zones. Traffic lanes can be much thinner as the human element is replaced with computerized precision. Drop off/pickup zones will be needed and valet parking will become a thing of the past . . . What, grandpa? You actually paid people to park your car?!? So as you begin planning for a streetscape renovation or downtown revitalization that will occur a few years down the road (pun intended), consideration of future technology has never been so important to the success of that project. Who knows what new technology will shape our landscape, but these two elements will definitely have an impact in the not so distant future . . . Streetscapes of the Future 12 Landscape Architect and Specifier News George Schmok, Publisher God Bless . . . PHOTO: ANDSUS - STOCK.ADOBE.COM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - AUG 2017