Landscape Architect & Specifier News

NOV 2017

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: http://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/896368

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 11 of 125

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Stephen Kelly skelly@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Admin. Assistant/Education Alli Rael arael@landscapeonline.com Associate Editors Associate Editor/Digital Information Ashley Steffens Associate Professor, University of Georgia steffens@uga.edu Associate Editor: Ordinances Buck Abbey, ASLA Green Laws Org • lsugreenlaws@aol.com Associate Editor/Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Associate Editor/Lighting Janet Lennox Moyer, IALD moyerj@rpi.edu In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Calvin Scott cscott@landscapeonline.com _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Romans 5:1 … Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Find Us Online: p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r 12 Landscape Architect and Specifier News Can you believe it's Thanksgiving time already?!? By the time you read this you'll probably be thinking of ways to burn off the extra poundage gained from the Turkeyfest, but I'm writing this just before Halloween and just after the ASLA Annual Meeting, held in LA. Yep, LASN was with a lot of LAs in LA . . . That meeting is always a great event for the profession, bringing together upwards of 400 exhibitors and thousands of Landscape Architects, designers, associates and students from across the country and around the world. This year I spoke with Landscape Architects and designers from China, Malaysia, Japan, New Zealand, Australia, Denmark, South Africa, India, Germany, England, Canada, France, Mexico and I'm sure a few more . . . Lots of conversations with lots of hand motions and shoulder shrugs, but almost all ended with a smile and a universal "Thank You" or Merci. The news from the ASLA meeting is almost all good. Lots of work. Cool projects coming down the pipe. New technologies making almost everything a little easier. Driverless cars, environmental awareness and it even looked like a solid group of students graduating in time to fill a few of the voids that are plaguing the entire construction industry. It's good to see so many students at the meeting: motivated, interested, concerned and ready to spring forward into the world of landscape. It's also great to see so many of the old timers and yesterday's up and comings who are now here and standing tall. It really is a great profession and I am thankful to be a small part of it . . . Thankfully Steering in the Right Direction George Schmok, Publisher God Bless . . . Utah State won the "Spirit" award inside the ASLA exhibit hall in Los Angeles thanks to their open-to-all steer roping contest. Nice throw . . . YeeHaa!!! PHOTO BY NATHAN SCHMOK

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - NOV 2017