Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JUL 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: https://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/1004372

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 11 of 133

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editors Mike Dahl mdahl@landscapeonline.com Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com Chante' McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com _______ In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT Technician & Graphic Design Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com James McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Samantha Flores sflores@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Oscar Villela Alex McBratney _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com John 15:13 … Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one's life for one's friends. Find Us Online: p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r 12 Landscape Architect and Specifier News Just spent an awesome week in Maui, where water is on everyone's mind, but certainly not the same way it is in Cali or throughout the South. For such a small island and with so many tourists and hotels, you'd think they might be concerned about their supply of fresh water. After all, there are no dams or lakes (except on the many golf courses) and the longest "river" is only a handful of miles long . . . We stayed at the Westin at Kaanapali where my good and terribly missed old friend, Frank Manwarren, spent months and months building 5 swimming pools connected by what was at the time (some 30 years ago) one of the largest Rock and Waterscape systems in the world. I remember Frank talking about the painstaking efforts they took to make the concrete outcroppings as realistic as possible, taking castings of rock structures from across the globe and joining them, in some cases with toothbrushes, to add a level of detail that is still considered state-of-the-art. Today, these kinds of manufactured rock and water structures are found everywhere, from hotels to zoos and amusement parks, shopping malls, entryway monuments and even residential backyard pools, complete with slides and grottos. But only a few short years ago, this was cutting edge, pioneered by men like Manwarren, Ed Lewis, Julian George, Lance Friez, Bob Morris . . . Only a couple of which are still with us today. So, as summer heats up, depending on where you are throughout the mainland, water is going to be on your mind. Some of you will have too much, some will have it at their disposal and some will be doing everything necessary to preserve that last drop. But whether it's used as a playground, amenity, tool or quencher of thirst, water in the landscape is and always will be a central and enduring element . . . So please . . . Use it creatively, use it reverently and especially for those of us in the driest parts of the country, use it wisely . . . George Schmok, Publisher gschmok@landscapeonline.com Aloha... Ho'omoe Wai Kahi Ke Kao'o (Hawiian saying meaning "Let Us Travel Together Like Water Flowing In One Direction") God Bless . . .

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JUL 2018