Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JUL 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 88 of 133

July 2018 89 I n f o r m a t i o n R e q u e s t # 5 8 5 I n f o r m a t i o n R e q u e s t # 5 8 7 ASLA 2018 Honors Recipients The board of trustees for the ASLA selected 16 distinguished professionals from across the country to receive honorary medals of recognition. The medals will be handed out during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO, October 19-22 in Philadelphia. Linda Jewell, FASLA, was bestowed this year's ASLA Medal, the highest award. She was the first woman to chair in the Department of Landscape Architecture at Harvard, was a tenured professor at UC Berkeley and helped form the College of Environmental Design there. Andropogon Associates of Philadelphia won the Landscape Architecture Firm Award. This is the highest recognition that the ASLA bestows upon a firm and is awarded due to "distinguished work that influences the profession." Other honorary award recipients were: ASLA Design Medal: Mikyoung Kim, FASLA Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Patrick Miller, FASLA LaGasse Medal – Landscape Professional: Scott Bradley, FASLA LaGasse Medal – Non-Landscape Professional: David Archambault Olmsted Medal: Forterra Medal of Excellence: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collections Several non-architect ASLA members were also recognized for their notable service to the profession. Ann Breen, Co-Founder and Co-Director, The Waterfront Center Philip Enquist, FAIA, Urban Design and Planning Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP James Garland, AIA, Founder, Fluidity Design Consultants Dan Gottlieb, Director of Planning, Design & Museum Park, North Carolina Museum of Art Carolyn Mitchell, former Honors and Awards Specialist, American Society of Landscape Michael Reynolds, Superintendent, Yosemite National Park, National Park Service Dick Rigby, Co-Founder and Co-Director, The Waterfront Center Carol Ross Barney, FAIA, Founder, Ross Barney Architects More information on the award recipients can be found here:

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JUL 2018