Landscape Architect & Specifier News

AUG 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: https://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/1012355

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 11 of 149

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editors Mike Dahl mdahl@landscapeonline.com Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com Allie Lapporte alapporte@landscapeonline.com Chante' McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com _______ In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT Technician & Graphic Design Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com James McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Samantha Flores sflores@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Oscar Villela Alex McBratney _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com 1 Corinthians 2:2 … For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. Find Us Online: 12 Landscape Architect and Specifier News Wow . . Can you believe that summer is almost over? Half the kids are back in school, and the rest will soon follow. If you're a typical American, chances are you took some sort of road trip this summer, and chances are you did NOT see an autonomous car next to you on the road. But chances are that next year, or maybe the year after, you WILL see a driverless car cruising down the highway . . . And you may be in it. It is almost a certainty that the autonomous car will be taking over our roadways and streetscapes over the next decade or so. That means, as a landscape architect who designs streetscapes and downtown redevelopments, you will need to become familiar with the National Association of City Transportation Officials (NACTO) (see page 56). If you are working on a streetscape plan today and are only looking forward at a ten-year-life for the project, you are probably safe in not planning for the next generation of transportation. But if your clients are looking for streetscapes that will thrive for 20 or 30 years, you would be remiss to not step back and think of the future. Will you need street parking 10 years from now, or will your car drop you off and then drive itself to the parking center, awaiting your command to come and pick you up? Will roundabouts still be needed to slow traffic? Will there still be traffic signals with a red light, or will there just be some kind of electronic signal only 'seen' by your vehicle's sensors? Will your car have an extra compartment to seat your personal robotic assistant? And where will you place the electrical power stations, or will every parking space come equipped with its own outlet? Yeah . . . It sounds a little like Sci-Fi, but the reality is that the next wave of transportation innovation is already running down the road and while you're planning that beautiful new streetscape, residential community (see page 52) or any project that is meant to accommodate vehicle traffic, you will need to assess how Generation A (for Autonomous) will be traversing the terrain. Heck, by then we might all be flying in our personal, autonomous hovercraft . . . As Doc Brown, (Back to the Future) so eloquently put it . . . "Roads? Where we're going we don't need roads." God Bless and Be Safe! George Schmok, Publisher gschmok@landscapeonline.com Road . . . What's a Road? "'Cause a little bit of summer is what the whole year is all about." - John Mayer p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - AUG 2018