Landscape Architect & Specifier News

SEP 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: https://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/1024685

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 11 of 133

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Managing Editor Mike Dahl mdahl@landscapeonline.com Academia Editor Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com Regional Associations Editor Allie Lapporte alapporte@landscapeonline.com National Associations Editor Chante' McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designer Jeremy Victor jvictor@landscapeonline.com _______ IT Technician & Graphic Design Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com James McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Sergio Lopez slopez@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Oscar Villela Alex McBratney _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com _______ In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok Matthew 4:19 … And He said to them, "Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men." Find Us Online: 12 Landscape Architect and Specifier News Well . . . Summer is officially over, and hopefully yours was one to remember. With the economy growing steadily and construction leading the way, your summer should have been both fun and profitable. Mine was both, and what better way to end the summer than by putting together the annual Playground Issue. It's not hard to imagine that this issue is the funnest issue of the year. After all, it's all about play and the projects you put together to foster creative, educational and socially interactive play for today's increasingly isolated and device driven yutes (or should I say . . . Youths). Of course, when I was a kid, after walking three miles uphill both to and from school, we used things like trees, fences, dirt piles and ditches as our playgrounds. But today there doesn't seem to be as many opportunities for free play as we had back then . . . That makes these play areas not only necessary for kids, but also gives reason for communities to invest in playgrounds as social watering holes. Today we are seeing more and more play elements focusing on adults too. Exercise stations and coordination based elements are attracting adults from 20-90. In addition, at almost every new playground aimed at the kids, increasingly there are elements to keep the parents engaged as well. So enjoy this end of summer issue and get out to a playground and have some fun. I might just see you there . . . God Bless! George Schmok, Publisher gschmok@landscapeonline.com Just Playin' Around . . . My summer fun included using the wide open ocean as a playground. The Dorado were plentiful, colorful, lots of fun to play with and you get the added benefit of a great summer bar-b-que as well! p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - SEP 2018