Landscape Architect & Specifier News

DEC 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 30 of 101

December 2018 31 At the Annual Meeting, Jenny Owen, former Mississippi Member Board Executive and past CLARB MBE Director received the CLARB Presidential Recognition Award, Owen for her leadership and dedication to serving the CLARB community and commitment to protecting the public's health, safety and welfare through common sense regulation of landscape architecture. CLARB CEO Joel Albizo, President of the Federation of Associations of Regulatory Boards' (FARB), is currently serving in his second year of his term, developing a positive voice for common sense regulation. In February, CLARB and National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) offered a new joint orientation program for new regulatory board personnel and board members. The event included: onboarding those new to their boards (within the past two years); providing a networking opportunity among regulatory peers and CLARB and NCARB staff; discussing the value of regulation and learning more about how boards may utilize tools each organization offers. CLARB and ASLA partnered to host the 2018 Licensure Summit, the first in-person event of its kind in Columbus, Ohio. Attendees learned: how to develop effective testimony at committee hearings; communicate with legislators on the value of licensure; and deepen the important relationships between the ASLA state chapters and regulatory boards. Landscape Architecture Foundation Profile: The Landscape Architecture Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organization founded in 1966 with the mission to protect, improve, and enhance the environment. LAF invests in research and scholarships to increase our collective capacity to achieve sustainability through landscape architecture. The Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards Profile: Since 1970, The Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) has been dedicated to ensuring that all individuals who affect the natural and built environment through the practice of landscape architecture are sufficiently qualified to do so. CLARB works to protect the public's health, safety and welfare by establishing and promoting professional licensure standards for education, experience and examination required for the profession of landscape architecture, in the United States; District of Columbia; Puerto Rico; and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario. The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is the premier leadership award program for landscape architecture students. Elizabeth Camuti, a master's student at the University of Virginia, was selected as the 2018 National Olmsted Scholar, receiving the $25,000 graduate prize. She plans to leverage the award to continue her ongoing research about new forms of socio-ecological infrastructure for isolated populations threatened by climate change and extreme weather, specifically the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Karina Ramos, an undergraduate at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, is the other 2018 National Olmsted Scholar and recipient of the $15,000 undergraduate prize. She will use the award to design a physical plan for Puente Piedra, an emerging town near Lima, Peru. Also honored were six National Olmsted Scholar Finalists. This year, the finalist awards increased from $1,000 to $5,000 for graduate students and $3,000 for undergraduates, thanks to the generous support of donors to the LAF: 50 & Forward Campaign. The LAF Fellowship for Innovation and Leadership is an opportunity for mid-career and senior-level landscape architects to explore, research, develop, and test the next big ideas and initiatives that will expand the impact of landscape architecture. Fellows receive $25,000 and dedicate approximately 3-months' time to their proposed project, working alongside alumni from LAF's Olmsted Scholars Program as part of a cohort. In 2018, the first participants in this new program finished their fellowship year, and the second round of fellowships were awarded. The LAF Medal and Founders Award recognize those that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission. The 2018 LAF Medal was awarded to Carol Franklin (pictured), FASLA, PLA, a founder of the sustainability-focused design firm Androgpogon. The 2018 LAF Founders' Award was awarded to The Trust for Public Land for their decades of work. c Above: 85 LAF Olmsted Scholars who were nominated by their faculty in 2018 for their exceptional leadership potential. Joel Albizo Above: From left: Christine Anderson presents the CLARB Presidential Recognition Award to Jenny Owen. Above: CLARB and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) join together for a new join orientation program, in Washington D.C. Right: Tim Schaffer, Ohio representative, receives the Legislator of the Year award from the ASLA Ohio chapter. Elizabeth Camuti Karina Ramos

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - DEC 2018