Landscape Architect & Specifier News

DEC 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 46 of 101

December 2018 47 I n f o r m a t i o n R e q u e s t # 5 4 0 The Irrigation Association, along with other coalition partners and leaders, have diligently advocated the authorization of the WaterSense program. America's Water Infrastructure Act Signed Into Law The Senate and House committee leadership agreed on America's Water Infrastructure Act of 2018 on September 10, and President Trump signed that bill into law on October 23. As part of the act, Congress authorized the Environmental Protection Agency WaterSense program. According to a press release published by Business Wire, the program is a public- private partnership that determines "water-efficient performance measures" and plumbing products that can be used for supplying water to homes and businesses in the U.S. Included in the water infrastructure bill is the expansion of water storage capabilities, the authorization of federal funding for water infrastructure projects and the reauthorization of the Water Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act program valued at $50 million per year for two years. The Irrigation Association has been a strong supporter of the program. "We now look forward to working with elected officials to ensure WaterSense remains a strong, market-enhancement program for water-efficient technologies and services," stated John Farner, government and public affairs director of IA. Irrigation Foundation's E3 Program Winners Announced The Irrigation Foundation has recently announced 30 students and two educators as the winners for the Irrigation E3 program of 2018. The E3 program provides related persons of the irrigation industry with education and experience through networking events and education classes. The educators of the E3 program are: • Sheila Dunning – University of Florida • Saleh Taghvaeian – Oklahoma State University A few of the student winners include: • Bibek Acharya – University of Wyoming • Roy Adams – University of Nebraska- Lincoln • Alex Bach – Kansas State University • Mark Castanon – California State University, Fresno • Edson Costa Filho – Colorado State University • Kristopher Cranney – Utah State University • Levi Dreiling – Kansas State University • Zulfa Eisa – Prairie View A&M • Jacob Williams – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo For a complete list of the student winners, visit y98ed3nl . For more information on the E3 program, visit .

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - DEC 2018