Landscape Architect & Specifier News

DEC 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 57 of 101

58 Landscape Architect and Specifier News I n f o r m a t i o n R e q u e s t # 6 5 5 PHOTOS COURTESY OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS ASLA Activity Books Released in Spanish LASN previously reported in July 2018 that ASLA had released Discover Landscape Architecture Activity Books. The books were created to inspire children and adults to learn more about the role of landscape architects in the U.S. On November 14, ASLA announced that these books are now available in Spanish. The association cites its determination to expand the population of people who are interested in the landscape architectural profession as the reason for this new development. The books have been available in English since June 2018. The two activity books that are available in Spanish are the ASLA Discover Landscape Architecture Activity Book for Kids (for ages 9–12) and the ASLA Discover Landscape Architecture Activity Book for Teens and Adults (for ages 13 and above). Both activity books are available for download at https://tinyurl. com/y9ps7j9q . To post drawings and activities from the books, and to see other people's work, use #ASLAactivitybooks on any social media platform. CLARB Elects New Officers at Annual Meeting The Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) held its 2018 Annual Meeting September 27-29 in Toronto, Ontario. During the event, the association announced its newly elected officers and regional directors that will be joining the Board of Directors, as well as new committee members. The 2018-2019 officers are as follows: • President – Philip J. Meyer • President-Elect – Stanley Williams • Vice President – Karen Kiest • Secretary – Robert Gunderson • Treasurer – Cary Baird • Past President – Christine Anderson • Director, Region 1 – Mark J. Zarrillo • Director, Region 2 – Patrick Beam • Director, Region 3 – Chuck Smith • Director, Region 4 – Dean Pearson • Director, Region 5 – Joel Kurokawa • Member Board Executive Director – Julie Hildebrand • Executive Director – Joel Albizo (ex-officio) • Committee Chair – Christine Anderson • Committee Members – Craig Coronato, Edward Kinney, Carisa McMullen and Ellen White In addition to naming the new officers, then-president Christine Anderson presented the 2018 Presidential Recognition Award to Jenny Owen. Owen is a former Mississippi Member Board executive and past CLARB MBE director. The award honors Owen's leadership and dedication to serving the landscape architectural profession. For more information about the new CLARB officers, please contact Missy Sutton, CAE, Member Engagement Manager, at or 571-432-0332. To learn more about CLARB's events and achievements of 2018, see page 31.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - DEC 2018