Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JAN 2019

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: https://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/1068710

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 117

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Managing Editor Mike Dahl mdahl@landscapeonline.com Academia Editor Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com Regional Associations Editor Allie Lapporte alapporte@landscapeonline.com National Associations Editor Chanté McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT Technician & Graphic Design Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com James McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Sergio Lopez slopez@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Jeremy Victor jvictor@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com _______ In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok Titus 2:14 … Jesus Christ gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good. Find Us Online: 10 Landscape Architect and Specifier News Global warming, climate change, sustainability, urban sprawl, regeneration . . . These are all terms that we live with more and more every day. - I was recently reading a copy of National Geographic, where they were lamenting the fact that permafrost in Alaska was retreating, revealing artifacts from the 1500s and 1600s and threatening the way of life of the neo-native populations there . . . The article also mentioned that retreating glaciers had exposed the remains of the now famous "Ice-man". - In Southern California where they live in perpetual drought, single and particularly multifamily housing is being developed at a break-neck pace. Only a few years ago, urban sprawl was the biggest issue in this region. All the talk was that acre upon acre was being developed into single family residences, consuming virtually all of the open land and resources. To counter that, higher density developments were implemented to allow for more communal open spaces . . . - If you draw an oval starting just north of Tokyo and extending down to cover India and Indonesia, you will have defined an area, not much bigger than the land mass of Australia but in which more than half of all humanity lives today. The largest city, Chongqing, has about 30,000,000 residents, but oddly and not indicative of most of the largest cities in the world, less than 8.5 million actually live in the 'urban' parts of that city. At #2, Shanghai is approaching 25 million, of which almost all live in the densely populated urban sections. By now you must be asking, what do these have to do with one another . . . Well, to start with, as glaciers retreat and permafrost thaws, they are evidently approaching the same levels as they used to be; like before the 'Little Ice Age' when cold overtook the world and led to massive famine and pestilence including the Black Plague. Back then, there were a few cities with several hundred thousand people like Beijing, Constantinople and Baghdad. But Sustaining Sustainability Above: Shanghai, China skyline at night with a popution of 25,000,000 . . . exactly!?! (See page 73 for the answer.) p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r Continued on page 74

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JAN 2019