Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JUN 2015

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 99 of 157

100 Landscape Architect and Specifier News I n f o r m a t i o n R e q u e s t # 5 5 0 The Landscape A r c h i t e c t u r e Foundation (LAF) has announced the two winners and six finalists for the 2015 Olmsted Scholars program, the premier national award and recognition program for landscape architecture students. The graduate school recipient is Grant Fahlgren, who is in the landscape architecture master's program at the University of British Columbia. Grant expects to graduate in November 2015. The graduate prize is $25,000. The 2015 National Olmsted Scholar at the undergraduate level is Maria Muñoz of Louisiana State University. Maria will graduate with a BLA in May 2015. She is the recipient of a $15,000 prize. Grant Fahlgren intends to use the award to research the collaborative partnerships between indigenous communities and designers in the Cascadia bioregion. He's looking to better understand the common ground between the fields of ecology and landscape architecture, and how those professions will collaborate in the future. Building on her heritage and experiences in Puerto Rico, Maria Muñoz plans to use the award to research the island's network of homegrown agriculture products. Through interviews and mapping, she intends to document the social networks and marketing strategies of the growers to help increase homegrown food to local markets. National Olmsted Scholar Finalists The six National Olmsted Scholar finalists each receive a $1,000 award. The graduate finalists • Andrea Johnson, City College of New York • Teresa Pereira, Temple University • Harris Trobman, University of Maryland The undergraduate finalists • Erin McDonald, Iowa State University • Nathaniel Oakley, University of California, Davis • Daniel Zhicheng Xu, Purdue University Two independent juries of leaders in landscape architecture selected the winners and finalists from a group of 43 graduate and 29 undergraduate students, all nominated by university faculty. These top students have all earned the designation of 2015 University Olmsted Scholars and join the growing ranks of nearly 400 past and present Olmsted Scholars. Now in its eighth year, the Olmsted Scholars program is made possible through the generous support of the lead sponsor (The Toro Company), the annual sponsors (EDSA, HOK, OLIN, Sasaki Associates, IRONSMITH, Thomas and Gerry Donnelly, and Steven G. King, FASLA) and the promotion partner (American Society of Landscape Architects). The profiles of the all the 2015 Olmsted Scholars is at . Grant Fahlgren, MLA student at the University of British Columbia, and Maria Muñoz, an undergraduate at Louisiana State University, won the top prizes in the Landscape Architecture Foundation's 2015 Olmsted Scholars program. LAF Announces Olmsted Scholar Awards & National Finalists

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JUN 2015