Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JUN 2017

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 83 of 141

84 Landscape Architect and Specifier News I n f o r m a t i o n R e q u e s t # 5 5 6 David de la Cruz and Lauren Delbridge were the recipients of the graduate and undergraduate 2017 Olmsted Scholars prizes, respectively. Both graduated with landscape architecture degrees at the end of the 2017 spring semester. 2017 LAF Olmsted Scholars The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) announced the two winners and six finalists for the 2017 Olmsted Scholars, the premier national award and recognition program for landscape architecture students. David de la Cruz, a master's student at the University of Washington, was selected as the 2017 National Olmsted graduate scholar. David's $25,000 award will go toward working with educators, school administrators and students at under-resourced high schools in South Central Los Angeles on environmental remediation projects. David's 2016 "Lot Liberation" gathered local artists, community members, activists and local vendors to add art and color to vacant lots. David graduates with an MLA degree this June. Lauren Delbridge, an undergraduate at Virginia Tech, is the recipient of the $15,000 National Olmsted undergraduate prize. She seeks to further her research on design strategies to remediate coal ash ponds and other highly disturbed lands. She plans to travel to successfully remediated sites to create case studies and a foundation for further design research. Lauren graduated with a BLA in May. The six National Olmsted Scholar Finalists each receive a $1,000 award. The graduate finalist are: • Catharine McCord, University of Colorado, Denver • Ruth Nervig, City College of New York • Ylan Vo, Washington University in St. Louis The undergraduate finalists are: • Kristi Lin, University of California, Davis • Nathania Martinez, University of Florida • Stephen Zimmerer, Pennsylvania State University Two juries selected the winners and finalists from a group of 50 graduate and 31 undergraduate students nominated by faculty. These students have earned the designation of 2017 University Olmsted Scholars and join the growing community of 549 past and present Olmsted Scholars. LAF President Jennifer Guthrie headed the graduate jury. "Their inventiveness and the breadth of their ideas are genuinely inspiring." Now in its 10th year, Olmsted Scholars is made possible by the lead sponsor, The Toro Company, and the annual sponsors: EDSA, HOK, OLIN, Sasaki Associates, Ironsmith, LandDesign, Thomas and Gerry Donnelly, Steven King, FASLA, and Bill Main. ASLA is a promotional partner. See p. 63 in this issue, and the profiles of the 2017 Olmsted Scholars at www.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JUN 2017