Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JUN 2017

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: https://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/835218

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 141

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Stephen Kelly skelly@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Admin. Assistant/Education Alli Rael arael@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor - Associations Andrew Soto asoto@landscapeonline.com Associate Editors Associate Editor/Digital Information Ashley Steffens Associate Professor, University of Georgia steffens@uga.edu Associate Editor: Ordinances Buck Abbey, ASLA Green Laws Org • lsugreenlaws@aol.com Associate Editor/Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Associate Editor/Lighting Janet Lennox Moyer, IALD moyerj@rpi.edu In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Lana Foley lfoley@landscapeonline.com Calvin Scott cscott@landscapeonline.com _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com 2 Samuel 7:22 … "How great you are, O Sovereign LORD! There is no one like you, and there is no God but you." Find Us Online: c o m m e n t a r y Welcome to the University / School Design issue of LASN. With one child graduating from Cal State and two others starting at new universities THIS YEAR, I've been looking at this issue through an interesting filter. First of all, in reviewing the articles about the elementary schools, I remember the days when our kids were the ones riding the slides or climbing the ropes. They were in elementary school right about the time that playground designers started to move away from the more traditional school playgrounds of galvanized swings, rings and slides, and move toward more comprehensive playgrounds with more of a focus on building skills and learning elements. Today, a modern playground has music makers, climbing structures, ADA access, shade structures, adventure-oriented slides and motor skill developmental apparatuses . . . Can't wait to see what the next generation will call a state-of-the-art playground! But now, two of our hatchlings are entering the adult playgrounds more commonly called the college campus. Virtually every one of the 17+ campuses we toured had an awesome gym and a rock climber somewhere indoors. Outside, however, the main areas of play were either in the realm of the stadium or sports field or they were the most basic of basics . . . an open area of grass. From what I saw, I'm pretty sure Frisbee is the official 'game' of the average college student. After that, I'd say the second leading element of physical activity is what at good ol' PLU we called the "Joggerunden." I think the word is Norwegian, but basically it means the hiking, biking and jogging trail. So, while many of the college level articles in this issue are focused on the aesthetic design of courtyards and pedestrian corridors, I wanted to put in a good word, especially in today's world where Pokemon Go and the mobile app is what a modern teen calls exercise, for the benefits of always including an element of play into every college campus design, even if that play area is no more than an open field of grass or a path through the trees. Playing Around with School Design 10 Landscape Architect and Specifier News George Schmok, Publisher God Bless . . . PHOTO BY GEORGE SCHMOK At one of 17 campus tours over the past few years.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JUN 2017