Landscape Architect & Specifier News

JAN 2018

LASN is a photographically oriented, professional journal featuring topics of concern and state-of-the-art projects designed or influenced by registered Landscape Architects.

Issue link: https://landscapearchitect.epubxp.com/i/923105

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 11 of 133

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Stephen Kelly skelly@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Admin. Assistant/Education Alli Rael arael@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editors Amy Wells awells@landscapeonline.com Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com Associate Editors Associate Editor/Digital Information Ashley Steffens Associate Professor, University of Georgia steffens@uga.edu Associate Editor: Ordinances Buck Abbey, ASLA Green Laws Org • lsugreenlaws@aol.com Associate Editor/Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Associate Editor/Lighting Janet Lennox Moyer, IALD moyerj@rpi.edu In Memoriam Don Roberts, FASLA; Kay Tiller; Frank Manwarren; David Brian Linstrum; Lois E. Schmok; Otto Edward Schmok _______ Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com _______ IT Technician & Graphic Design Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com _______ Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com _______ Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com _______ Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com _______ Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Tanner Maddox Chase Reed Calvin Scott _______ Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com _______ Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Psalm 42:2 … My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God Find Us Online: p u b l i s h e r 's l e t t e r 12 Landscape Architect and Specifier News Welcome to 2018! I guess this is the year that the 21st century becomes an adult . . . You know, it's sometimes good to look back at our history as we prepare to move forward in our journey. I was reflecting a few days ago about the licensure of landscape architects and a meeting I had more than 30 years ago with Raymond Page . . . Beverly Hills, as he was known in that town and immortalized in the local newspaper there back in the 1950s. That's right . . . In the heyday of Hollywood, back when Beverly Hills was the playground of the rich and famous, a landscape architect . . . In fact the first official landscape architect . . . also carried the 'official' moniker of Mr. Beverly Hills. (LandscapeOnline article # 8809) I call him the original landscape architect, because he was literally the guy who initiated licensure for landscape architects. Page's licensure number was actually #2, because his friend, Harry Shepard, was dying and he was given the honorary number 001, but make no mistake about it, it was Raymond Page who first set the course for landscape architecture licensure. In that meeting with the 90 year old Page, we came up with the tag many of you adopted to distinguish yourselves as a Registered Landscape Architect or an 'RLA.' Today, though, more and more of you are using the tag 'PLA.' The ASLA says the 'P' is for "Professional," but I think it should stand for Practicing Landscape Architect. This is especially appropriate now, as virtually every state is licensed with a Practice Act. I think Page would approve of the shift from RLA to PLA, but the shift can only hold water if we continue to maintain the nationwide Practice Act. But then, why wouldn't we be able to convince the country of the importance of landscape architects to the public's health, safety and welfare, especially when reviewing the projects in this 'Sustainability' issue? Landscape architects have come along way since Page was called a "Possy Planter" in court, setting him on the course to legitimize the profession through licensure. It's good for us to remember that that happened only a few short years ago and that the profession itself is just now entering its adult years and that the act of licensure is not a right, but instead an earned title . . . One worth defending as you continue to Practice the art of being a Landscape Architect. Above: Raymond E. Page FASLA (circa 1986) in his office patio overlooking Crescent Drive, one of the main streets of Beverly Hills, which he had recently redesigned. Above: Heinold's First and Last Chance Saloon in Jack London Square, Oakland...The birthplace of Landscape Architectural Licensing. George Schmok, Publisher God Bless . . . gschmok@landscapeonline.com Welcome 2018! It's Time to PLA . . .

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Architect & Specifier News - JAN 2018